Tags

, ,

Ever been to the Sawdust Art Festival or something near its equivalent? You can walk about and look at crafts, buy crafts, and watch artisans create their work. In effect, they invite you in to watch their creative process as they take raw material and fashion it into something striking in appearance.

In contrast, when I write, I’m alone in real space, just me and my desktop computer. I may work on material written earlier, or I may type out new, but the only company I have while creating are those I interact with online.

When Denise Tanton called attention to this post on Blogging or writing for future publication, it once again left me pondering if I should open the curtain on my creative process, exposing the raw materials of my work in the moments after I begin to shape it into something resembling a story.

My youngest daughter and one friend read the sub-elements of the story I work on right now. I have a rough draft on paper that I work off, loosely transcribing it into Word, heavily revising while I go. It isn’t quite editing, that will come later, once all 150 or so pages are digitised.

Others wish to read the work. With that in mind, I explored various online document sharing services, including Googledocs and Microsoft’s Skydrive that is part of its Windows Live messenger/email/office integration, settling on Skydrive as best for me (best managing Word documents.) The idea is I can upload newly created docs and share with those who wish to read the story. That part is easy enough.

What I struggle with is sharing such rough work, work that could be wholly revised down the road. One could read the story, only to find out it looks a lot different six months from now. How many times would one person wish to read the story?

Many years ago, I worked as a maintenance person at a local television station between college terms. While I worked, I could hear the production team developing and editing advertisements that began with an elephant’s roar. After the fortieth roar, I had my fill. I feared it would haunt me in dreams (fortunately, it did not.) I just know that after not a day of that but weeks, I wished to hear anything but an elephant.

If I open up the writing now, writing in raw form, with story inconsistencies, unfinished tangents, redundancies and the like, with parts I might delete and without parts I may add in later, is that of interest to anyone? Or is it the refined product the only part to share?

Does anyone wish to see how I build a story from scratch?

