Tags

, , , , , ,

Consequences, fate, and karma can sometimes be indistinguishable, yet we only know the first exists. Stir in spiritual or philosophical outlook, and our observations and evaluations produce explanations unique to us. Yet we can relate to the stories of others, at least at times, because we recognise the progression from initial action to consequence, even if our judgement might be different.

There were consequences to my breakdown, for others, for me. A couple dreams rescued me from an early end, except my dysfunction narrowed my focus to the moment, rather than the whole of life. When the consequences began to roll in later, with me prepared, rebuilt, and cooperative, fate did a marvellous job of lining up my life, as if by design. While the result was not pleasant, it was just, and it proved a learning experience. I will not bother to cite events and timeline; trust me on this one, because this post is not about me.

Please follow my gaze toward Neekswrite’s The Short and the Long of it, and to her post Just Rewards.

The story antagonist likely never took stock of personal conduct or of ultimate accountability. Arrogance and ego, bred in the mire of insecurity, grew to enormous proportions by feeding on a confluence of bigotry, revenge, intolerance of diversity – whether of opinion or people, and national pride.

Neeks opens a window on one such roll of possible consequence, karma, and fate, and if you wish, spirituality. While I love all of her story creations, this is my favourite to date. We read with suspicion of whom, and even if we know, we wish to be in on the conclusion, willing rooters for just reward. I know this was my reaction.

Ah, but wait, there is more! I throw this out for further consideration. Should we feed our spirit even with a just demise? Should we take pleasure a human failed in such a vile and total way? Is it better we go this route, or, should we be thankful it is over, and focus instead on bettering the society in which we live, and ourselves, such that it never happens again?

In this time of polarised America, a situation I hope does not replicate in the nations of others who read this space (or any nation), should we not seek solutions together instead of embracing hate of each other for liberal or conservative outlook? What have we learned from history when we grow so intolerant of the opinions of others we devalue their speakers in our minds and with our words? Am I above such conduct? No, but I sure do think about it, and like to think I will step back and evaluate myself, something I’ve had to do lots – and will always do.

As a student of history, specifically one of two majors back in the Neanderthal epoch writing my exams with chisel on stone, I studied 20th Century European history. I have read lots on how the great evil arose and what results it gave us. Knowing is important, teamed with remembering. Just let it serve as catalyst to move us forward, and not to replication.

