Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Rally days invigorate.  Tacking away from fiction writing, a post on a day of women standing in solidarity wanders into fresh memories lapping the shoreline of my consciousness.

Pictures might provide a sense of place.  Since my camera card failed in the recording, I’ll rely on external links to pictures by others.

IMAGE GALLERY: NH Women United Rally in Concord

A cold me. Brrrrr!

For anyone not in the US, over the past fifteen months, a series of either enacted laws or proposed laws in various states attacked reproductive rights of women.  Part of this process involved a concerted attack on Planned Parenthood, in Congress, and in state legislatures.  (Disclosure: I volunteer for Planned Parenthood, as a greeter and occasionally organising work at events such as yesterday.)

The proposals arose in New Hampshire as well, but so far, aside from parental notification, the proposals go nowhere.  Republican leadership keeps trying in various ways, and we must remain vigilant.

More attended a March rally, in part because of the weekday scheduling (drawing on downtown employees) and nicer weather.  Around 400 turned out yesterday, still a good number.  A range of speakers energised the crowd, including candidates for governor, Congress, and state positions.

Rallying for four hours with other women energised my spirit.  A fact unknown to me until yesterday surfaced from one speaker: from 2008-2010, the NH Senate became the first legislative body in US history to have women in the majority.  The 2010 election proved disastrous, but we need to return to increased numbers and steer this state away from attacks on our rights.

Yesterday, grandmothers and great-grandmothers worked their way among younger women.  Signs included ‘I’m a welder and I’m not a second class citizen; I’m here for my granddaughter; ‘I lived through the 1950s once, I don’t want to live through them again; When women are screwed, we multiply; Being born female is not a pre-existing condition (referencing a common health care exclusionary clause.)

We need to make our mark in the November election.  We need a heavy turnout from women, now over 51% of the nation’s population.

(Note: On Tuesday, the blog appearance will change. Since I’m in school and not employed, I cannot afford to pay for the extras. When I’m working, it will return to its current appearance.)

