I’ve watched it countless times.

Patriot’s Day in Massachusetts, legal holiday for them, but a vacation day through selection for me. We’d take in the 11AM baseball game at Fenway, sometimes warm, sometimes frigid, and make our way to the race. On occasion and with a lopsided score, we’d get to the race in time to see the top finishers, always a thrill to see incredible athletes do their thing.

I loved seeing the top women finishers, but we encouraged everyone who ran past us – that is the spirit of the day. Running 26.2 miles (42.2 km) is a fantastical achievement, and everyone deserves applause for the effort.

It boggles my mind someone pounced on this event, one that draws hundreds of thousands, one that is for families to enjoy. The stories today, so many, so tragic, but this one…

The man in the hat at Boston Marathon finish line: Carlos Arredondo didn’t set out to be hero

I recall the aftermath of his son’s death and his attempt to take his own life. He didn’t succeed, and now he saved someone. In madness, something to make me smile.

